Quicken? “It’s spinach, the heck with it…”

The accounting software from quicken has been justly famous. For ages. But this week, it comes under fierce attack from Wendy M Grossman in her “net.wars” column. She gripes:

The other day, I noticed that the personal finance software I’ve been using since January 2, 1993 (under DOS!), Quicken, had started responding to requests to download stock quotes this way: “Quicken was unable to process the information in the file that was downloaded. We recommend that you try again.”

The saga ends with a formerly loyal user turning hostile:

I now realize that I had come to hate the software so much that I more or less stopped dealing with it other than for invoices and stock quotes. The original purpose for which I bought it, to save money by keeping track of bank balances had long since been forgotten.

So, I say it’s spinach and I say to hell with it.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

